London, day 4

Thursday 4/9:

I strolled around on my way to the tube station and found Riverside 2 Ristorante.  Nice breakfast of scrambled eggs with salmon and toast; I can forget about that coffee-shop.  

An African funerary carving.  Notice the western clothing and the gun.

An African funerary carving. Notice the western clothing and the gun.

Ships' figureheads in the Royal Maritime Museum.

Ships’ figureheads in the Royal Maritime Museum.

I tubed out to Greenwich (map) and spent the morning in the Royal Maritime Museum.  I went thru exhibits on Nelson’s era, World War I ship models, the fall of the British East India Company, and the Atlantic slave trade.  So many furious engines of war!

After a late lunch in the museum cafeteria, I walked up the hill into Greenwich Park.  I looked at the Greenwich Observatory, whose longitude is the world’s point of reference, but didn’t go in, due to museum fatigue.  I went into the cute planetarium, but the content was pretty juvenile.  There were droves of children, many of them speaking French.  

gate

Entrance to Greenwich Park.

I had supper at the Riverside 2.  I’d hoped to buy theater tickets or find some live music.  But I had gotten back to town too late for the theaters, and I walked around the neighborhood without hearing any bands.  I saw several pubs, but they were just entertaining with beer.

4 thoughts on “London, day 4

  1. Laura

    London is my home city so I always love reading blog posts on it! Hope you are having fun! If you need any tips on things to do or places to go then let me know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

