iPhone / iTunes / iPhoto; Solving the “Double image problem”

When I sync my iPhone on my iMac, I often find that the device window in iPhoto shows two of each photo.  This is a huge nuisance.  if I import the photos, I get doubles, and in Latest Import I have to manually delete one of each pair.  (It asks me if I’m sure, every time!)

I’ve tried adjusting various settings recommended in forums, but it hasn’t stopped the problem.  Possibly, if I keep updating my software I might eventually get a fix from Apple.  My current environment:

  • iOS: 8.3
  • iTunes: 12.2.2.25
  • iPhoto: 9.5.1 (902.17)

What works for me is to toggle “Sync photos” on and off.  This fix doesn’t last long; the duplicates come back next time I sync. 

What to do:

  1.  Connect the iPhone to the iMac.Screen Shot 2015-08-22 at 1.51.39 AM
  2. If you see duplicates in iPhoto, go to iTunes.  In the top left corner, click the icon that looks like an iPhone.  In the left sidebar, navigate to Photos.  Check the Sync Photos box.  Uncheck the Sync Photos box.Screen Shot 2015-08-22 at 1.52.46 AM
  3. When it appears in iTunes, check the Dismount icon.  Disconnect the iPhone.  Reconnect the iPhone.
  4. Now, in iPhoto, you should see just one of each photo.Screen Shot 2015-08-22 at 1.53.40 AM
Leave a Reply

